top of page
Writer's pictureJosiah Forbes

Seasons Typography

Updated: Oct 20, 2022


This is my Seasons Typography art I made in Photoshop.


To start, create a new file with standard presets in photoshop.

Now I'm going to create a guide to split my canvas into 4 sections because I need to make 4 difference images. go View > Guides > New Guide Layout

I turn off the column and set rows to 4. I turned margin on and set all directions to 50px once done I pressed ok to apply the guide.

Next I found a image of autumn leaves online and opened it individually into photoshop















Inside Photoshop I select the magic wand tool with W and selected the backround then pressed backspace on the keyboard to delete it. I then pressed CMND + D to deselect.

Then to turn this image into a brush, I first to made it colourless by going, Image > Adjustments > Hue/Saturation

Then lowered the lighting to -100

I used the Rectangular marquee tool to select the area containing the image.

Then went Edit > Define Brush Preset

I named my brush Leaf1

and that is how to make my custom brush which I will use to make my text look better.

I will make a custom brush for each of the 4 seasons.

Now back on the main document, I will make make the text boxes and customise them.

Using the Horizontal Type Tool I will drag a box to the size I have the guide lines.t

Then I write the seasons name inside it and drag the edges of the text box to size.

In Character and Paragraph panels I choose a good font in Bold and set it to all caps, and Justified text into the centre. also adjusting the font size


Now I'm going to make a new layer above my text box. and in that layer I select my custom brush in the brush preset picker. Now I added a few leaves around the text.

Now holding shift I will select the Autumn Text layer and the Autumn Details layer and right click and Convert To Smart Object

Now the deatails and text are together.


Now I will drag a Autumn background image I found online, into the project. and set the layer just above the Autumn Smart Object layer. Then I adjusted the size so it would cover the full width of the canvas.

Now I will hold ALT and left click at the bottom of the layer. This creates a clipping mask

Once clicked the image will fill only the text.

Now I will repeat this process with all 3 other seasons texts.

I then added a background by creating a new layer under everything, using the Rectangle tool and filling it.

That's everything for my Seasons Typography Art, I think this was a very successful project and I really like the outcome, its my favourite piece of Typography art I've made.






24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Opmerkingen


bottom of page