top of page
Writer's pictureJosiah Forbes

Running Horse

Updated: Feb 20, 2023



I started by finding a image online of muybridges photos of horses.

In adobe illustrator I used the pen tool and drew over each frame on its own layer.

I filled the main outline in with black.

I then used the Pathfinder Divide to be able to remove fill from certain areas of the horse. I drew separate shapes for the gaps, Divided them with the main outline to cut them into it.


Now I could just remove fill from those gaps to keep it all transparent background.


(A easier fix would have been to just fill the gaps with white over top of the black horse, but then if I wanted any different background colours layer it would have had random white patches on it.)


Here all my frames are finished being drawn. In each layer I made sure that the image was a group of all the components.


I then selected all my frames layers with CMND + A

I used Object > Align > Vertical and Horizontal Center


This put them all in the same place in the centre of the screen.



Then In adobe animate new 1920x 1080 project, Insert > New Symbol

Named it Running Horse and set it to graphic.

Now inside the new symbol,

File > Import > Import To Stage

Select all the horse frame layers,

(I left out frame 12 as it is the horse standing still and doesn't work as a looping animation)

Set Convert Layers To: Keyframes

Now the frames are imported into the running horse symbol.

Back in Scene 1, were going to now animate the symbol with keyframes. start by dragging the symbol from the Library onto the canvas

Now use the Free Transform tool (Q) to adjust the size as u want.

(add time on the timeline now if u want to check the horse is animated)


Position the first keyframe outside of the canvas. then set your end position keyframe further down the timeline and adjust the horses position.

Now right click on the first keyframe and add a Classic Tween.

Then after the first animation I set another keyframe and went

Modify > Transform > Flip Horizontal

Then I set another keyframe further on the timeline and set my end position of the horse.





30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page