top of page
Writer's pictureJosiah Forbes

Rocket Animation

Updated: Jan 19, 2023




Animating Rocket

I started by drawing a rocket in adobe illustrator using the pen tool and shape tools.

I then created a new 1920x1080 document in adobe Animate, i imported my rocket into the stage, and converted it into a symbol. then making sure i am in Scene 1 i used keyframes to animate my rocket and i added a classic tween to the rockets timeline.


Animating Flame

I double clicked on my rocket to enter the rocket symbol, then drew a flame and converted it into a symbol (graphic) called Flame, i went into the flame and I animated the flame of the rocket within there, making a simple 10 frame animation, that will loop whenever the rocket is visible.


Sky

In Scene 1

I created a plain blue background for a sky by using the rectangle tool. i did this on a new layer and put it below all other layers.



Clouds

In Scene 1

In illustrator I made clouds by using a very soft brush and then imported it into animate. I then copied the cloud multiple times and changed the size of it to make all the clouds look a bit different. once I had a long line of clouds I selected them all and converted into a symbol, and used keyframes to animate them moving slowly from right to left.



Smoke

In Scene 1

Using the brush tool I drew frame by frame smoke coming out from the rocket and engulfing the entire screen. I also changed the opacity of the smoke once it covered the screen, by manually changing the opacity of each frame I made it fade out which gives a nice transition into the next scene of space.



Space background

In Scene 1

I created a background image in illustrator and imported it into animate, and converted it to a symbol, now I have a still space background. I also made a separate background just of the stars, then I imported the stars and put them above the other background, I used keyframes to animate the stars moving in the opposite direction to the rocket, then the space background is finished.


Planet

I made a planet image in illustrator and imported it into animate and converted it into a symbol.

Next I set the image to be out of frame for most of the animation, when I wanted it to appear i set a keyframe and positioned it into the center



Rocket Motion Tween Animation


Using a Motion tween i created this short animation. I right clicked on the rocket and applied a new motion tween, Then i set the arc of motion for the rocket to follow.





32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page