top of page
Writer's pictureJosiah Forbes

David Hockney

Updated: Oct 17, 2022


This is my David Hockney Polaroid Portrait I created in Photoshop.


I began my project by creating a A3 Document in Photoshop and putting a picture of myself in it. I then found a polaroid image online, downloaded it and opened it with photoshop. I then used the magic wand tool to select the centre, and deleted it with the backspace, making the centre transparent and the image fully ready to use

I then used the move tool, while holding Alt, to drag the polaroid from its tab into the main file


I used the Magic Wand Tool to Select the inside of the polaroid, then created a new layer above it, and filled the layer with Black with the pain bucket tool


I duplicated my background photo with Command + J and dragged the copied layer to the top of my layers panel, then I held down Alt and clicked on the layer which turned it into a clipping mask

then I could on the selected layer press command T and transform the image within the polaroid box











I then selected the 3 layers, (The polaroid, The filled black, and the image clipping mask) and right clicked and Converted to Smart Object

This makes them more organised and easier to edit and copy to make more Polaroids.


From here I edited this polaroid to my liking using the transform. then to make more polaroids I right clicked on my smart object and chose "New smart Object Via Copy" this copies the little bundle of files and it is very important u do this and not duplicate the smart object, otherwise the new copy and the old will be both opening the same mart object.









I then made my window show 2 tabs side by side, which helps while working on smart objects.


I repeated copying the smart objects and editing them,

also using CMND + T to transform some polaroids to make their square larger than others. eventually building up my portrait, once all areas where covered I turned off my original photo background layer, and this was my finished result


Im not really sure how successful this portrait was, I think is successful but I personally don't like the polaroid style portrait very much and it just seems to messy to me.





16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page